Fine Art PR Publicity Announcements News and Information
Fine Art PR Publicity Announcements News and Information

Swiss Sculpture Exhibition Biel-Bienne Le Mouvement: Performing the City

The 12th edition of the Swiss Sculpture Exhibition continues the innovative spirit of the format by offering the most radical edition yet. True to its provocative legacy of sixty years, the three-folded exhibition Le Mouvement challenges the very definition of public art by creating no sculpture at all. The exhibition is dedicated to performance in the urban space.

The 2014 edition is organized by two curators: Gianni Jetzer (New York) and Chris Sharp (Mexico City). Their concept emphasizes the body in movement, both physically and socially. The exhibition is composed of three independent parts, which enrich and complement one another.

Movement I kicks off with a reconfiguration of sculptures from former editions. Different representations of the human body in movement are investigated in a juxtaposition of sculpture and performance. Movement II titled Performing the City responds to the first part by transforming the very city of Biel/Bienne into a vivid and dynamic performance space. Movement III, a museum survey at Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt titled The City Performed, consolidates the past with the present.

With the participation of Bojana Cvejić, Gianni Jetzer, André Lepecki, Natasa Petrešin-Bachelez, Hans Rudolf Reust, Peter J. Schneemann, Chris Sharp and Jan Verwoert in co-operation with the Contemporary Art History Department of the University of Bern and the Bern University of the Arts (BUA) on July 4 and 5.

For further information, please contact [email protected].

Artist list
Vito Acconci, luciana achugar, Francis Alÿs, Alexandra Bachzetsis, Nina Beier, Max Bill, Pablo Bronstein, Trisha Brown, Paulo Bruscky, Alex Cechetti, Egle Budvytyte, Goda Budvytyte, Ieva Misevičiūtė, Martin Creed, Willi Dorner, Douglas Dunn, Felipe Ehrenberg, VALIE EXPORT, Simone Forti, Alicia Frankovich, Dara Friedman, Gelitin, Tomislav Gotovac, Alberto Greco, Anna Halprin, Maria Hassabi, Sanja Iveković, San Keller, Jiří Kovanda, Germaine Kruip, Köppl/Zacek, Myriam Lefkowitz, Jérôme Leuba, Marko Lulic, Liz Magic Laser, Babette Mangolte, Rachel Mason, Olivier Mosset, Kelly Nipper, Neša Paripović, Ewa Partum, Alexandra Pirici, Miervaldis Polis, Prinz Gholam, Ariana Reines, Mladen Stilinović, Rirkrit Tiravanija / Julius Koller, Ulla von Brandenburg/Lin Yilin/Christian Jankowski/Hermann Hubacher