Fine Art PR Publicity Announcements News and Information
Fine Art PR Publicity Announcements News and Information

Art Gallery of Ontario Photography Prize 2014

Aimia and the Art Gallery of Ontario announce the jury, nominators, and long list for the 2014 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize, Canada’s leading award for contemporary photography.

The jury is led by Sophie Hackett, associate curator of photography at the Art Gallery of Ontario, and includes Nigerian-born curator, writer and scholar Okwui Enwezor and American photography and film-based artist Laurie Simmons.

The 2014 long list, which features 23 artists whose work in photography and video over the past five years has shown extraordinary potential, marks the first time artists from all six continents have been represented. The jury will select a short list of four artists from the long list.

The Aimia | AGO Photography Prize long list includes:
–Takashi Arai (Japan)
–Raymond Boisjoly (Haida Nation, Canada)
–Rodrigo Braga (Brazil)
–Elina Brotherus (Finland)
–Talia Chetrit (USA)
–Robyn Cumming (Canada)
–Chris Curreri (Canada)
–Pradeep Dalal (India)
–Lucas Foglia (USA)
–David Hartt (Canada)
–Jean-Paul Kelly (Canada)
–Meiro Koizumi (Japan)
–Owen Kydd (Canada)
–Elad Lassry (Israel)
–Angelica Mesiti (Australia)
–Sabelo Mlangeni (South Africa)
–Nandipha Mntambo (South Africa)
–Lisa Oppenheim (USA)
–Anna Ostoya (Poland)
–Birthe Piontek (Germany)
–Andrea Robbins & Max Becher (USA + Germany)
–Martin Weber (Chile)

The nominators, a group of 13 curators, artists and scholars, each nominated two artists to the long list—one from their home countries or regions of expertise and one internationally. The nominators are:

–Veronica Cordeiro, curator, Centro de Fotografía de Montevideo, Uruguay
–Tamar Garb, Durning Lawrence Professor in the History of Art, University College, London, UK
–Moyra Davey, artist and nominee for the 2010 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize (then called the Grange Prize)
–Marie-Josée Jean, director, VOX Contemporary Image Centre, Montreal
–Mami Kataoka, chief curator, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo
–Kim Simon, writer and curator, Gallery TPW, Toronto
–Jonathan Shaughnessy, associate curator, Contemporary Art, National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa
–Jon Davies, associate curator, Oakville Galleries
–Grant Arnold, writer, educator and Audain Curator of British Columbia Art, Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver
–Gauri Gill, photographer and winner of the 2011 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize (then called the Grange Prize)
–Gary Dufour, adjunct associate professor, University of Western Australia and former chief curator/deputy director, Art Gallery of Western Australia, Perth
–Brian Sholis, associate curator of Photography at the Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati
–Beatrix Ruf, director/curator, Kunsthalle Zürich, Zurich

One of the largest art prize programs in the world, the Aimia | AGO Photography Prize awards more than 85,000 CAD in cash prizes directly to artists working in photography each year, and each year’s winner is chosen by public vote. The Prize program is comprised of an annual exhibition, an online exhibition at, fully funded artist residencies in Canada, public events and a national scholarship program.

The shortlist will be announced on August 13. The 2014 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize exhibition opens at the AGO on September 3. The winner will be announced on October 29. For updates on the prize and additional information, please visit and follow @AimiaAGOPrize on Twitter.