Dublin Contemporary 2011 Announce Exhibition Programme

. June 23, 2011 . 0 Comments

Dublin Contemporary 2011, taking place from September 6th until October 31st, announce its exhibition programme, featuring more than 90 Irish and international artists from five continents.

In response to the theme Terrible Beauty—Art, Crisis, Change & The Office of Non-Compliance, the artists will engage with a number of venues and public spaces throughout the city.

Some of the many highlights at the main exhibition site Earlsfort Terrace include: a titanic sculpture by Swiss artist Thomas Hirschhorn, an installation by eminent Greek artist Jannis Kounellis, a series of powerful photographs by American Nina Berman, new video works by Israeli artist Omer Fast, as well as a major interactive multimedia sculpture by the Chinese artist Wang Du.

Emerging artists, including Ella Burke (Ireland), Ludovica Carbotta (Italy), James Deutsher (Australia) and Miks Mitrevics (Latvia), will all present new work side by side with commissions by leading figures such as mounir fatmi (Morocco), Jorge Tacla (Chile) and Corban Walker (Ireland).

Collaborative practices are also well represented in this exhibition. They include, among others, the artist collectives The Bruce High Quality Foundation (USA), Claire Fontaine (France), Goldiechiari (Italy), Christine Molloy and Joe Lawlor (Ireland), and Superflex (Denmark). Performance pieces include, new commissions by the artists Amanda Coogan (Ireland) and Teresa Margolles (Mexico). Throughout the exhibition, visitors will also experience a programme of art in the public realm. This will include works by artists Alexandre Arrechea (Cuba), Tania Bruguera (Cuba), and Graham Dolphin (United Kingdom).

The Office of Non-Compliance, located within the Earlsfort Terrace exhibition site, will function as a promoter of ideas around a laundry list of non-conformist art proposals. This element of the exhibition will include ad-hoc, accessible structures for discourse around art and its place in society.

Extending its reach across the city, Dublin Contemporary 2011 will partner with four important Dublin galleries: The Douglas Hyde Gallery, Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane, The National Gallery of Ireland and The Royal Hibernian Academy.

Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane will present a retrospective of the work of renowned Irish artist Willie Doherty. An exhibition of American painter Alice Neel’s striking, psychologically penetrating portraits will take place at The Douglas Hyde Gallery. The National Gallery of Ireland will host works by a number of international artists as well as a new commission by the distinguished Irish artist Brian O’Doherty. The Royal Hibernian Academy will host an exhibition of works by American painter Lisa Yuskavage as well as a new commission by Irish artist James Coleman.

List of artists:

David Adamo, Alexandre Arrechea, Kader Attia, Nina Berman, Anna Bjerger, Jorge Méndez Blake, Alberto Borea, The Bruce High Quality Foundation, Tania Bruguera, Fernando Bryce, Ella Burke, Alan Butler, Matt Calderwood, Ludovica Carbotta, Jota Castro, Chen Chieh-jen, Claire Fontaine, Mark Clare, Declan Clarke, Cleary & Connolly, James Coleman, Amanda Coogan, Mark Cullen, Dexter Dalwood, Alain Declercq, James Deutsher, Alberto Di Fabio, Braco Dimitrijević, Willie Doherty, Graham Dolphin, Wang Du, Brian Duggan, Masashi Echigo, Maarten Vanden Eynde, Omer Fast, mounir fatmi, Hans Peter Feldmann, Doug Fishbone, Fernanda Fragateiro, Nicole Franchy, Kendall Geers, David Godbold, Goldiechiari, Assaf Gruber, S Mark Gubb, Patrick Hamilton, Thomas Hirschhorn, Katie Holten, Ciprian Homorodean, Simona Homorodean, Jaki Irvine, Áine Ivers, Mark Jenkins, Kysa Johnson, Patrick Jolley, Wendy Judge, Jannis Kounellis, Nevan Lahart, Jim Lambie, Brian Maguire, Kathryn Maguire, Teresa Margolles, MASER, Stefana McClure, Siobhan McGibbon, Bjørn Melhus, Miks Mitrevics, Christine Molloy and Joe Lawlor, Richard Mosse, Carola Mücke, Alice Neel, Liam O’Callaghan, Manuel Ocampo, Brian O’Doherty, Mairead O’hEocha, Eamon O’Kane, Niamh O’Malley, Claudio Parmiggiani, Alejandro Almanza Pereda, Dan Perjovschi, William Powhida, Wilfredo Prieto, Guy Richards Smit, Ciara Scanlan, Fred Robeson, Mathias Schweizer, Marinella Senatore, Nedko Solakov, Superflex, Jeanne Susplugas, Jorge Tacla, Javier Téllez, Vedovamazzei, Corban Walker, Ishmael Randall Weeks, Lisa Yuskavage, David Zink Yi.

Image: Earlsfort Terrace, main exhibition site, Dublin.
Photo by Renato Ghiazza 2011.Earlsfort Terrace, main exhibition site, Dublin. Photo by Renato Ghiazza 2011.

Lead Curators:
Jota Castro and Christian Viveros-Fauné


Category: Fine Art News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.